Sleeping with The Panther

Since last winter, Herman Panther has taken to sleeping in Hank’s arms like a lover.  Now, I don’t want you to think that I mind, because I don’t mind at all.  Seeing as how I tend to be mistaken in my sleep for a mild cyclone, I’m perfectly happy letting two of my boys have at the comfort of each other’s arms. That way I’m free to twist the sheets into rope and send the blankets into 14 directions and generally get the sleep that I need unencumbered. 

Unfortunately, my spot on the door-side of the bed puts me directly in the path of the sleek but leaden-weighted Herman Panther, a place that seems predetermined to be his springboard on and off the bed. 

Imagine me, deep in sleep, in my stormy lullaby-land, unconscious, unknowing, unable to anticipate my 16-pound bowling ball on claws bounding off my belly like it’s the trampoline launch at the cat gymnast olympics.  Or equally astonishing, awakening to the scrabbling ascent over my protruding hip at he claws his way up, over, and into the valley between me and Hank.

Let’s just say I could do without these sudden awakenings. But there is little that can be done, short of building a fence on my side of the bed, which is an idea I just now had that might work.  But short of that, his only other route is to cut across my pillow, painfully yanking my hair with each step. Or sometimes, he’s cut across my face, and I awaken with scratched cheeks.  Yes, I don’t mind Panther sleeping with Hank, it’s just his getting in and out of bed that causes issues.

However, once he makes it to his target, let’s call it “warm-body Hank,” a bit of magic occurs that kind of changes everything.  This is how it works:  Herman mills around in the vicinity of Hank’s neck looking especially clueless and waiting for “it” to happen.  Then, suddenly, he’s drawn in under the covers right in the perfect spot next to warm-body Hank.  It happens so fast, it’s amazing!  It would take the cat about a year to find that spot himself, believe me.

Now Herman’s sleeping head rests on Hank’s big manly bicep, and Hank’s other arm gently embraces the happy black cat.   Through the night they sleep thus, man and cat and other cat (at feet), and woman slash cyclone slash trampoline.  Now, what was it I was complaining about?

Categories: cats, Herman, humor, humour, lifestyle, relationships, sleep | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Sleeping with The Panther

  1. That sounds like fun! I think I’ll try the human trampoline exercise myself. Purrs!

  2. It sounds divine, the end result we mean. The process and the scritches and yanked hair, hahaha, we understand –

    Sending many purrs and squinks from us…

    BKC & Megan

  3. Jenna

    OMG I totally understand the human springboard thing! Usually my 12 pounder likes to step on the same spot on my left breast EVERY single time. It’s like having a kitty-version of a monthly breast exam. Maybe they’re trying to tell me something…

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Flux Comb

in which i record my pursuit of well-being in a world where the only constant is change

Juju Films

Cutting edge Multimedia Programming

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

creekviewcarol

life in the not-so-fast lane

Catwoods Porch Party

~ CATS, art, nature, animals, science, weather. Painter at heart ~

Literature and Libation

Through it all, your spirit's alive

Badhomeowner.com

Me and Hank vs. 90 year old house

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

blunderoftheday

Making stupid mistakes - it seems to be the only thing I'm really good at.

Eldrid Elephant

Eldrid's work blog to help #wlf cats to remember things

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should!

Ambition In The City

Living Life One Lesson At A Time

The Office Inbetweener

SOME GUYS JUST AREN'T CUT OUT FOR A 9 TO 5...

Time Management for Cats

The book cats have been waiting for...

Vancouverandy

Funny thoughts from a nut like me.